Fashion Week Designer Spotlight:Serena Fagence

DSC03001The name Serena means composed and serene – and designer Serena Fagence certainly embodies these qualities. Showcasing her talent for the first time at ANZFW, Kate was privileged to spend time with Serena on Tuesday getting to know the personality behind her avant garde collection.

What is your main goal when designing for your client base?
I just think about a person having an item to wear with their entire wardrobe and I try to make every piece completely different but with my signature design throughout.

Where are your pieces being sold at the moment?
I sell to Qui Boutique in Kay Road and being at Fashion Week means I can work to wholesale to stores. I hope to sell to other stores in Auckland but I don’t want my line to be mass produced. I do want my pieces to be sold overseas but I like the idea of my clothes being made here in New Zealand and a lot of the fabrics used are from Auckland wholesalers.

How do you formulate your ideas?
Everything is pretty much dreamed up and about fantasy … It is all about energy. I guess it is all about working hard and then letting the creativity flow.

Is showcasing your collection at ANZW the biggest thing you have achieved?
Well, to be honest I never dreamt I would come to Fashion Week. I am turning 23 in a couple of weeks and it just doesn’t feel real to be honest. You work insane hours and you don’t know time is going by and then all of this is happening around you. It’s unreal.

Can you summarise your collection in three words?
Energetic, wow and innovative.

What advice would you give to designers who are trying to get into the industry?
Believe in yourself and believe in what’s different about your style and then push that with as much passion and drive as you can.

Photography by: Winchey Zheng

Comments
2 Responses to “Fashion Week Designer Spotlight:Serena Fagence”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Fashion Week Designer Spotlight:Serena Fagence « Designer Direction designerdirection.wordpress.com/2009/09/26/fashion-week-designer-spotlightserena-fagence – view page – cached * In: Air NZ Fashion Week| Designer Spotlight Interviews| Interviews * Comment! — From the page […]

  2. […] designer Serena Fagence is selling off her mens and womenswear samples from NZFW; formerly known as the Air New Zealand […]



Leave a Reply

  • © Designer Direction 2009, 2010 - All Rights Reserved. Unauthorised use in part or full of any image or article is prohibited by law. All images and content © 2009, 2010.
