RAFW Runway Report: Zimmermann Spring/Summer 2010

At 10.28am today, it felt like literally everyone involved in and associated with fashion week was present in the Overseas Passenger Terminal. Anyone could see that Zimmermann was over capacity – waaaaay over capacity. Staff members glanced nervously down the infinite general admission queue as hoards of stylish attendees piled into the room as it gradually morphed into some sort of fashionable mosh pit. With a bit of patience and contortion of my arms, I was able to find a fifteen centimetre window between two well coiffed heads from which I was determined to take photos.



While my neck did ache a teensy bit from all the craning, it was certainly well worth it. Taking a slightly edgier route this season, Zimmermann showcased some amazing geometrical swimwear. I’m not sure if it was because I was sleep deprived and needed better contact lenses, but many of the prints looked very reminiscent of optical illusions. The genius of Zimmermann’s collection was pairing these sharp patterns with floral details thus achieving a unique juxtaposition.

The Zimmermann siblings also managed to hit the nail on the head with creating interesting yet flattering forms. I simply adored the two-piece swimsuits featuring off-the-shoulder tops and high waisted bottoms. See, every time summer rolls around, I promise myself I will frequent the beach more regularly so I get some wear out of my swimsuit instead of letting it accumulate dust at the bottom of my drawer, yet I never seem to go more than once. Somehow, I think if these puppies were in my possession, I would get to the beach much, much more often.

Being a highly body-conscious label, I was intrigued by some of the curious dresses including one particular column dress with panel cutouts and long sleeves. Paired with the black choker, the look seemed almost gothic.



Overall, it was easy to discern why Zimmermann was wildly popular with Sydneysiders – sexy, unique and fun, what more could you ask for?

Visit our Flickr site for images of the full runway collection. We update our galleries every few hours! : http://www.flickr.com/photos/designerdirection/

Review by: Kelly Jin
Photography: Edward Hor

Leave a Reply

  • © Designer Direction 2009, 2010 - All Rights Reserved. Unauthorised use in part or full of any image or article is prohibited by law. All images and content © 2009, 2010.
